Royal Wrap-Up

Hello royal friends! I know I have been delinquent in my blogging duties lately – I blame my recent vacation to Hawai`i. Now that I’m back, let’s catch up on the events of the past few days!

Queen Elizabeth II Celebrates Her 86th Birthday – Saturday, April 21

Credit - The British Monarchy

This past Saturday, Her Majesty turned 86-years-old with the help of a 21-gun salute from the Royal Navy. The annual salute took place at Portsmouth Harbor on the south coast of England. Queen Elizabeth II’s birthday will be honored again on June 16 with a special celebration at Buckingham Palace. 

The London Marathon 

On Sunday, April 22, 37,5000 took to the streets for the 32nd annual London Marathon. Despite “beating” the world’s fastest man, Usain Bolt, in a friendly race in Jamaica last month, Prince Harry was there to show his support. The 27-year-old prince awarded medals to the participants, but of course it would not be a Harry appearance without a little fun and games; Harry teased the crowds that William and Kate would run in the 2013 marathon. Erase that penciled in date off your calendars, Mini Middletons, The Palace confirmed Harry was up to his usual tricks and the comment was purely a joke. Hey, they still have a year to change their minds.. 

Prince Harry to Return to the United States

It was announced on Monday morning that in two weeks time, Prince Harry will make a very welcome return to the United States on May 7. Harry will be honored by the Atlantic Council at a dinner in Washington D.C., receiving the council’s “Award for Distinguished Humanitarian Leadership.” The award is in recognition of the charitable work by he and his older brother, Prince William, for wounded servicemen on the road to returning to civilian life. I would like to add that the nation’s capital is only 3 hours from me, so, if anyone has any connections at the Atlantic Council, I am currently accepting applications for my new best friend.

 

Finally, I would like to share the best thing Huffington Post Style has ever created – a year in the life of Prince Harry. Swoon away… The Huffington Post, Style.

The article even resulted in a http://twitter.com/#!/HuffPostStyle/status/194851229027930112 from your very favorite blogger..me!

 

Sources/Photo Credit: The British Monarchy, Getty Images, The Daily Mail, The Huffington Post

Leave a comment